WELCOME TO REGENT’S COLLEGE

We landed at Heathrow at 6:45 a.m. local time with a six hour jet lag.  After checking in with UK Border Patrol, we (about 20 or so Webster students) started to make our way through the corridor to go to Regent’s.  Of course, its not that easy.

As we are leaving the terminal, I make eye contact with a middle-aged woman in a pant suit.  BAD MISTAKE!

She comes at me and begins asking me questions and penciling figures on a form.  “What is your reason for being here, sir?” she asks.  Study Abroad.  “And your country of origin?” USA.  You’d be proud of me Larry.  By the third question, I began to think this situation was suspicious.  By the fifth question, I actually used some of the inquisitive journalism stuff you taught me.

“What is this for?” I asked (see! Journalism!) and she kinda glared at me.

"I'll ask the questions here!"

She explained she was with the Office of National Statistics and was doing a survey.  She continued asking questions and I answered her questions with about as much enthusiasm as a neutered dog.  After she asked the finally question, we ran for the exit and I stared at my shoes.

We opted for a taxi instead of the tube.  I didn’t have a clue about London rail and I just wanted to get to Regent’s.  We managed to squeeze five people and all of our luggage into the taxi and it only cost us 80 pounds.  The taxi driver was very nice and polite.

The RA staff helped us move into our rooms.  My roommate was already there chilling in his bed.  We shook hands and exchanged names.  His is Matt.  And that was the extent of our bonding because both of us crashed.  I slept for FIVE HOURS!

What I haven’t pointed out is how beautiful the Regent’s Campus is.  It is so lush and green.  I can’t wait to explore.

These are pictures from my third floor room.  There is no elevator, but if you’ve seen me put on pants, you’ll agree I need the exercise.  And I think you will agree, the view is worth it.  Click on the pictures for a larger picture.  And I promise.  I will take more pictures.

Leave a Reply

